News Flash Home
The original item was published from 10/15/2020 11:16:40 AM to 10/15/2020 11:19:08 AM.

News Flash

Announcements & News

Posted on: October 15, 2020

[ARCHIVED] PRESS RELEASE: Brookings Historic Preservation Commission Seeks Nominations for Mayor's Awards

Brookings Entryway Sign

Brookings Historic Preservation Commission

Seeks Nominations for Mayor’s Awards for Historic Preservation 


The Brookings Historic Preservation Commission is seeking nominations for the Annual Mayor’s Awards for outstanding achievements in Historic Preservation. This awards program recognizes significant achievements in historic preservation in the City of Brookings and seeks to inspire others to preserve, protect and promote historic resources. 

Nominations can be made in one of the following categories:   Excellence in Rehabilitation, Restoration, Stewardship, Achievement/Service, or Lifetime Achievement.


Excellence in Rehabilitation Award:   Recognizing projects that make compatible use of a building through repair, alterations or additions while preserving features of the property that convey its historic value.  Nominees in this category must demonstrate how their restoration or rehabilitation of a historic property was a laudable effort using the Secretary of The Interior’s Standards for Historic Preservation, or achieved a satisfactory result by going over and beyond the normal accepted practices.


Excellence in Restoration:  Recognizing exemplary restoration of historic structures. An accurate restoration project depicts the form, features and character of a historic building as it appeared at a particular period of time. Restoration requires sensitive upgrading of mechanical systems and other code-required work to make the site functional.


Adaptive Reuse Award:  Recognizing projects in which an older building has been restored in sympathy with its historic period or architectural style, even if the current function of the building is not the same as its original historic function.


Infill Award:    Recognizing a new structure located within any designated historic district, which exhibits compatibility with the Historic District.


Stewardship Award:  Recognizing those who have ensured the preservation of historic properties through long-term care and maintenance, stabilization, protection, or continuous family ownership. 


Preservation Achievement (or Service) Award:  Recognizing persons, groups, businesses and/or government entities that demonstrate exemplary activities and promotion of awareness in the field of historic preservation.


“Mary McClure Bibby” Lifetime Achievement Award.   Recognizing an individual who has championed historic preservation, planning, or public policy in the City of Brookings.


Nominations for the Awards must be submitted to the Brookings Historic Preservation Commission by Friday, October 30, 2020.   Nomination forms, instructions and other information about the awards may be found by visiting Form or by contacting Mike Struck at 605-692-6629 or

Facebook Twitter Email